People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Discussion about the effectiveness and reality of an idea is a contentious one, which may sometimes lead to serious disagreement. However, for an idea to be able to work and gain the support it must go through thick lens of criticism and scrutiny . For a people, criticizing his own idea is one of the hardest jobs but in most of the cases the deepest criticism comes from the supporter of the very idea in order to make it more plausible and viable.

Criticizing one’s own idea is an audacious task as it means criticizing one’s own perception and understanding and accepting that one’s notion is prone to error. For this reason, some people stick to their own idea even if there is ample evidence that contradicts the idea.

For instance, when Galileo proposed heliocentric solar model, the church and its supporters slandered ,mocked and even sent the scientist to jail for his stand even though he provided enough scientific evidence. Bruno was burned to death for his opposition to the church. The Church didn’t want to lose its dominance over the society and its people . So, no matter what ,they were rock solid in their stand in the face of all attacks from science. It’s very hard for some people to let go off notions that had been hammered in their head deeply.

Now look at the other side of the same example. In the face of extreme opposition from church and other religious communities, these scientists kept doing their research,backed their hypothesis again and again with evidences. Because their success and reputation depends on the viability of the idea that they are proposing. In order for the ideas to be widely acceptable and widespread, there is no room for error. It should hold it’s ground in the face of any kind of attack from any side.

A politician refines his political views and agendas to gain support from people . For him,criticizing his own idea, redefining his thought process is a must to gain continuous support from supporters and to be in the race. Time , society , people thought is continuously changing. So , for an idea to hold water, it has no choice but to adapt.

To become and idea to pass the test of time and become universal it must be pristine and versatile.

An idea which doesn’t go through discerning is sure to fade away . People who wholeheartedly supports an idea always keep the idea under their magnifying glass.