twenty years ago, dr. field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of tertia. using an observation-centered approach to studying tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. recently another anthropologist, dr. karp, visited the group of islands that includes tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. in the interviews that dr. karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. dr. karp decided that dr. field's conclusion about tertian village culture must be invalid. some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

In the statement the author asserts that the survey conducted by dr.field with observation centered approach, which is conducted 20 years back which concludes that the rearing of children on island of tertia is done the people of village rather than their biological parents and on a contrary by dr.karp who used interview centered approach after 20 years since dr.field conducted the survey observed that the children are reared by their biological parents rather than people of the tertia island. However before analyzing the statement the author needs to answer the following 3 questions.

First of all, the approach conducted by dr.field which is observation centered method could be compared by the method used by dr.krap which is interview centered method? There are chances that the results obtained by interview centered measures are inaccurate or even after recommendation of many anthropologist the interview centered method is not suitable to be conducted on island of tertia. For example, lets say dr.kraps method is right but in interview with the children’s, the children due to there capricious nature gave the contrary statement which cannot be considered as true or dr.karps only interviewed a bunch of kids who were the only kids reared by the people of tertia island or were in-fact children from foster home. If this scenario holds merit then the statement is flawed.

Secondly, the method used by dr.field which is observation centered method which also could be inaccurate as observations does not have any kind of information or details just observation of kids does not provide concluding evidence that the kids are reared more by people of island tertia then their biological parents. For example, kids are as discussed above unpredictable and can act weirdly which might give inaccurate observations or dr.field observations had an error while acquiring information. If any of this scenario holds water then the statement is flawed.

Finally, as the results are based on unwarranted assumptions which means no method of analysis could be considered well or superior. Dr.field’s observation method of survey cannot be compared to dr.karps interview centered approach of survey as no evidence is provided upon effective results of any method just belief of a few number of scientist does not prove a method to be more accurate then other.

To conclude, the methods which are used 20 years apart by 2 different anthropologists without any sufficient reinforcing evidence on effectiveness of any method cannot be analyzed and the argument as it stands now is flawed with many unwarranted assumptions and is not viable to analyze without any further proof by the author.