“on balmer island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the islands moped rental companies from 50per day to 25 per day during summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain 50 % annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island seaville, when seaville’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

In a letter to editor of the balmer island, the author asserts that due to augment in population in balmer island during the summer season the accidents on the island due to mopeds have also multiplied and the author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that the major form of transportation on balmer island is mopeds and as a panacea limited the rental of mopeds on the island of balmer. However before this argument can be fully evaluated, 3 questions should be answered with evidence by the author for analyzing.

First of all, as per the authors assumption that the increased number of accident is due to aggrandizement of population on balmer island and has caused increment in accidents due to mopeds and pedestrian which may not be the case and may be there are chances that accidents are increased due to accident by other form of vehicles like bicycle, car, truck, auto-rickshaw or even due to improper implementation of or lenient traffic norms on balmer island, for example, if a car meets with an accident with a bicycle due to lack of traffic signals on the balmer island which is not case in the statement and which cannot be resolved by restricting the renting of number of mopeds by 50 percent/per day if any of these scenarios are true then the conclusion drawn in the statement is significantly weakened.

Secondly, in th statement the author assumes that the restriction on renting of number of mopeds per day would resolve the issue and in result the council will achieve 50 percent reduction in accidents just like council of seaville island attained, but the authors assumption that the restriction on rental of mopeds in seaville island might not be effective on balmer island, because without any evidence on seaville islands size, population, type of roads and popular mode of transportation etc characteristics of seaville island cannot be generalized for balmer island. For example, if popular mode of transport in seaville island is cars contrary to mopeds in balmer island or the roads in seaville island are very congested due to which rental of moped is restricted which cannot be compared to balmer island without reinforcing evidence. So if any of the scenarios have any merit then the conclusion drawn in the statement is trivial.

To conclude, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide any reinforcing evidence to the assumptions in the argument or provide required details then it would be possible to determine whether root cause of increased accident on balmer island is due to increased population or by reducing number of moped renting.