GOVERNMENT SHOULD FOCUS ON SOLVING IMMEDIATE PROBLEMS OF TODAY RATHER THAN ON TRYING TO SOLVE THE ANTICIPATED PROBLEMS OF THE FUTURE

We know that the government plays a fundamental role in governing a country, which is in dominance by the will of the citizens and so the citizens also play a key role in efficient working of the government likewise the government should also work with full efficacy to serve their citizens. The statement suggests that the problems faced today should be prioritized first compared to future problems to which in my perception I mostly agree and to corroborate that with the following reasons.

First of all, as the government serves the citizens of the country it should hear the voice of their citizens and work with accordance. If the citizens are facing a problem which needs exigent action then there is no meaning of considering anticipating problems. For example, if there are increased number of accidents in the country due to clemency in traffic rules then the priority should be to make stringent rules which compels the citizens to follow it and the anticipating problem like recalcitrance of few citizens towards strict rules should be over-ruled and main focus should be on mitigation of number of accidents on road.

Secondly, in many cases there are chances that the government should consider the anticipating problems which may hinder or harm more in the future because the panacea for today might seem hindrance for tomorrow. For example, if a country is facing a steep decline in economy or going through recession then the clear solution to alleviate the condition is to reduce the amount of taxes and give enough amount of loans at reduced interest so the flow of money in the market reinforces and eventually the economy ameliorates. This might seem tempting but this decision might hinder in future because if people get inured to such benefits which are there for ephemeral period or just for recovery of the economy to normal, and when the taxes and interest rates gets to normal then it might create problems to many.

Finally, in many cases there are chances that today’s problem might be beneficial in long term or might outstrip the problem with its benefits. For example, lets consider governmental scheme of life insurance for people living below poverty line, in this scheme the citizens who fall under below poverty line category are allowed to get a fixed amount of money from government for there treatment in hospitals. To which they have to pay back the money in installment without any interest. In this scheme the amount of money to be invested at ones is resolved but the amount needs to be paid back which is a long term loan.

So to conclude, the decisions taken by the government should be thoroughly evaluated with regards to present as well as future to which it is concomitant. The demanding problems should be considered in priority and problems which “might” hinder should be prioritized second.