“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The antropologists who gave such recommendation base their argument on the idea that if students talk about much more time talking about their biological parents it is because of the fact that their biological parents grow them and they generally care them. However, there are some important issues which should be handled to conclude such a recommendation.

First of all, it is not clear if the results that reached by Dr.Karp derives from the all interviews that he conducted in the group of islands or they are specifically belong to Tertia. In the first method, Tertia is the only island that is visited and in which observations are made. However, in the second one the sample is too large that it may mislead the results. So, the antroplogist should take into consideration to this issue while they giving a recommendation about it.

Secondly, spending much more time talking about their biological parents does not imply that they are reared by their biological parents. The students may have better feelings towards their biological parents because it is a little bit biological issue eventually/at the end. They may like them more and this may be the reason of why they are talking about them more but we cannot conclude that they are not grown by entire village.

Finally ,although they spend much more time talking about their biological parents this maybe because of the fact that they are reared by the rest of the village but they miss their biological parents and since people like talking about the things that they yearn for this is the reason why they are talking about them much. Moreover the content of the interviews also an important issue. What they are talking about their biological parents should also taken into the consideration.