The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There is nothing more natural than the fact that a store owner thinks their businesses. His fundamental task, as a manager in his own business, is profit maximization. So it is indispensable fact that he should analyse the number of shoppers in his store and he should handle the problems that causes to decrease in his sales. However, in this letter there are some significant questions needed to be answered before taking an action.

First of all, there is a hidden assumption that the amount of the litter and vandalism throughout the plaza is because of the skateboarders. There may be a correlation between the number of skateboarders in the plaza and the amount of garbage and the events that harm the plaza ,but it is not clear if this relationship is a cause-effect relationship or there is just a correlation between these two things. These vandalistic behaviours should be monitored via security cameras and if they really spring from the skateboarders’ activities , then there may be a such regulation that skateboarder users cannot enter the plaza. However, it cannot be prohibited throughout the city just because of the plaza owner’s complaints because there may be some other people that like these skateboarders. Before taking such important decision all city members’ thoughts should be taken into the consideration.

Secondly, in some sectors there are some seasonal decreases in the businesses. How can they be sure that the dramatic decrease derives from the number of skateboarders. Maybe it was the summer season and significant amount of city members went to holiday and this is the reason of decreases in the business or maybe there is a country level economic crisis in that times and people no longer prefer going shooping as they preferred before.

Finally, there may be some another reason that really causes to this vandalism and since it is correlated with the popularity of skateboarding ,skateboarding activity which is on the surface can be seen as a reason. For example ,let us think about the following scenario: very famous rap artist made a new song and it gives people courage to vandalise everything that surround them and in his song clip there are some skateboarders vandalizes everywhere. Because of the popularity of this singer , all teenagers start to use skateboarding and to vandalize everywhere in order to reveal their bad feelings. Now, is the skateboarding the cause of this vandalism? Of course, the answer is no and if it is so why they are prohibiting the skateboarding?

All in all, a store owner should take all of the things that I mentioned into the consideration before taking an action and they should elaborate on this issue by analysing the local and country level problems that may cause this decrease and these vandalistic behaviours .After being sure in the reasons of this issue, they should make their head-shot attempt, otherwise without understanding the deep essential reasons and making decision by just observing the surface activities they, store owners, cannot overcome these problems.