Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument seems to be cohesive in the first glance. But crucial evidences that could cement the claim are lacking.

First of all, just because we find an item at a place does not necessarily guarantee that it was made there. Trade and Business is all about transporting the goods manufactured at a few locations and making sure that customers have access to the products no matter how far they are from the manufacturing facility. So maybe the woven baskets ended up in Palea from another place that we are not aware of yet.

Archaeology tries to make conclusions based on the latest and most crucial evidences available. So we never know if we are missing a piece of the puzzle until we discover one in the future. Also thinking that the Brim River, that is now very deep and broad, must have been very deep and broad during the ancient times as well is not backed by evidence. This opinion could be strengthened by studying the landscape and the geological changes that the place might have undergone since the ancient times. Had the river been shallow and narrow, the prospect of needing boats is out of the equation. These baskets could have been transported in small ferries.

Even if we go along the assumption of Paleans to have used boats, these were prehistoric times and probably, these boats were made of organic materials. And, organic materials like wood are prone to faster decaying and cannot stand the test of time. The term 'Palean Boats' is a source of uncertainty as well. There is no mention of what qualifies as a Palean Boat

Evidence on the geographical and geological data of this place could reveal the changes that this place went through. Further probing into the culture and traditions of people in this location could reveal traces of existing practices connected to ancient basket weaving techniques. Lithos, being an ancient village is far younger than the prehistoric village of Palea. So it maybe that some natural diaster washed away Palea and the survivors set camp on the other side of the river to give rise to Lithos