Do agree or disagree? when teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Education is the bedrock of any society. Group work has always been seen as a method of bringing people together to brain storm on a certain task. Some academics believe that assigning projects on which students must work together enables them learn much more effectively than they would study alone, while others are of the school of thought that group work is not as productive as people think it is, therefore it has no positive impact on the scholars. From my point of view, i believe students learn more effectively from group work better than working alone by sharing ideas and making research

First of all, when lecturers assign projects to a group of students, they have expectations. As there are benefits to the pupils working together on a designated task. Meanwhile, if a student is given an assignment to carry out alone, he may likely find it difficult as he is limited to only what he knows. Group work brings about sharing ideas, learning to examine topics from different perspectives as each member of the team learns to compare, contrast and integrate others perspectives into their own thinking. For example, while in the university, my class was divided into groups of four and we were given projects on drilling engineering, I was a shy student who merely talked during lectures, however, this group work made me interact with them more closely and share my ideas as we all had our different understanding of the course as it was very demanding. At the end, we all learnt from each other much more than we would have if asked to carry out the project alone.

In addition, there are a lot of upsides to working with a group of people on a designated task. Working as a team makes the a team member study more than how he would usually study, because he has to contribute to the team thereby making research so he can teach others, as various tasks are assigned to each member of the group. For instance, a group of students assigned to work on a certain project, each member will be given a particular topic that he will teach others, as a result, they go the extra mike by making researches.

To conclude, group work is a very great way of learning for students as it enables them share ideas and carry out researches on topics they ordinarily would not do on their own.