The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The manager of WWAC radio station tries to explain how, based on a number of observations on local music tastes trends and on the number of citizens, he expects his radio to grow in listeners if it adopts a change from its current format. In particular, as population has increased in the listening area of the radio, and because, at the same time, local sales of recorded music have been going down lately, he thinks that switching from its current rock-music format to a news and talk format would be productive and lucrative. Unfortunately, though, there is a considerable number of flaws and holes in the entire reasoning chain, in particular related to some superficiality in the use of several terms (see mainly, decline, growth) and in some assumptions that, if proved wrong, would heavily weaken the argument.

To begin with, there is something opaque in the use of some words. Among the many unclear expressions also stated in the introduction of this essay, it seems witty to analyse the consequences of the erring use of the word "growth" used about the population. What is really crucial about this is the possibility that, after all, the growth itself is not that influent. How relevant is it? Has the local population grown that much to become undoubtedly pivotal for the conclusions of the argument? We need to have proved the evidence that the population growth is interesting in the aims of the author, otherwise it would be an unreasonable and useles element.

On the other hand, there are also evidently non-lucid passages in the argument. For instance, at a certain line the manager points out that the local interest in music is limited, "as evident" because of the continuing decline in local sales of recorded music. While this could be effectively true and germane, it is to be deemed inappropriate if it is not backed up with some concrete evidences. First of all, we do not know how substantial the mentioned decline is, nor we know when it has started and thus what "continuing" really means (it could be a continuig process that only began two weeks ago). What is more, the motivations for the decrease can be a plethora of different circumstances: people could be going through a local economic crisis, or, they could be having a new penchant for digital music. Namely, we cannot just state that because of the lowered number of sales, people do not like radio music anymore: the relation between the two things must be deepened by means of further evidences.

In the same way, by the view of the manager of WWAC radio station people is substituting rock-music with news and talks, and he derives this conclusion because of the "increasingly popularity" of the latter format. This is a possibly fallacious parallelism. In fact, it could a fact that the proposed increase is due to a general growth in the use of radio stations, so that every format is experiencing an increase in the number of listeners. Again, it could also be that the stated increase is basically immaterial, non-momentous in the interest of the manager, and it could even be so ephimeral as to last only a couple of days: we just do not know. Also in this case, there is a clear necessity of further investigations on the cited occurrences and on the evidences that ar behind the argument.

In conclusion, it is incontrovertible that the author of the argument did try to give explanations for his conclusions, but has neglected to furnish the reader with the necessary evidences that would strengthen the argument itself. In fact, we are given no information about the reasons behind the above-mentioned trends, and, to sum up, we cannot conclude that the argument is trust-worthy if we do not learn more about them. Nonetheless, it could be the case that the author holds somewhat true: it all depends on the missing evidences.