Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

It is nowadays almost a platitude that people tend to assess other people's moral values and personal features by means of social and information media. This more often than not results in the delineation of the worst idiosyncrasies of anyone, specifically of VIPs and well-renowned people. This notwithstanding, a certain number of living people of any kind still manages to be deemed heroes: their value goes well beyond media scrutiny.

In our society, everyone finds a way throughout his life to stick to a role, mainly depending on his jobs. Some roles are, undoubtedly, more easily appraisable than others, like those of soldiers, firefighters and doctors. It is exactly from these three categories that the most commonly recognized heroes come out. In fact, whenever life savings (like in the case of firefighters and doctors) and personal commitment to a great cause (see soldiers for a nation) are on the board, we feel comfortable maintaining that those people are the heroes of our era. Usually, media have nothing relevant to do with them. In fact, there is nothing momentous enough to ruin the image of a life saver and, on the other side, usually media help getting those people sometimes even world-wide known.

On the other hand, media are effectively a danger for anyone's public image. By this view, we cannot refute that social media have a pivotal role in making it deeply hard for heroes to keep their figure free of negative contamination, and many VIPs and famous people have been ruined by the mechanisms of medias (specifically by social ones). The reasons for me to assert this is that many concrete examples have been evident in the last decade. Trump, Putin, Berlusconi, to name few: they have all been (and are) important and influential governors in their nation (America, Russia, Italy), but they all failed appearing perfect to the eyes of their citizens. As a matter of fact, media found out a plethora of argument to question the authority of those men and to construe their apparent moral perfection. One above all, the scandals in the private life of Berlusconi.

Nonetheless, this system does not result in the total absence of heroes in our present life. In fact, true heroes are considered such properly because they cannot be destroyed by media. In 2006 a terrible earthquake in the centre of Italy challenged the administration of the many local governors. A uncountable amount of rulers were ruined by media during that difficult period, as a lot of flaws and holes in their policies and decisions were constantly highlighted by media themselves. The governor of L'Aquila, the city above the focus of the earthquake, though, was sufficiently wise and shrewd as to demonstrate that he was truly trustworthy, giving thorough explanations for every action he did. By means of these actions, his public consideration gradually waxed, and now he is concretely considered a hero. Aligning to this example, it sounds fair to say that, while media do make things difficult for every not morally untouchable person, they also help people showing their best when they are given a chance to.

In conclusion, it is incontrovertible that media make it way more difficult for anyone to stand out and survive to public scrutiny. However, there is still someone who, mainly thanks to his real value, is still able to be claimed as heroes. In fact, some virtues, like the one of firefighters of soldiers, cannot be besmirched.