The following appeared in a newsletter to Canbury’s residents from the president of

Plexma Motors.

“I am pleased to announce that Plexma’s new manufacturing site is on schedule to open

next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and

testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by the

Canbury Gazette, 60 percent of residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma selfdriving

vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles’ safety. We are happy to

report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown

Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for

two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of

Canbury’s residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in

operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will

create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury’s economy as a whole, I recommend

that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in

Canbury when our new site opens.”

The president of Plexma Motors tries to convince Canbury's residents to vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling self-driving vehicles by means of several reasons. In particular, he makes use of a number of surveys to point out how the locals are positive toward the safety of the vehicles and how they will be favoured by consequently new jobs in Plexma. Unfortunately, he fails to prove his argument because of a noticeable quantity of flaws and holes in the reasoning chain. For instance, there is a superficial use of percentages and of certain "quantity" terms and, at the same time, some parallelisms are not justified by any concrete evidences. For these reasons, to effectively assess the trust-worthiness of the argument, we would need the necessary information to answer to several questions.

To begin with, numbers. Throughout the entire argument there is a substantial focus on percentages. In the author's reasoning, 60 percent and 90% are crucial elements for his aims. While this could concretely be the case, to infer the cogency of these data we need the bases of the percentages. What is the number of citizens of Canbury? And, more specifically, how many of them have been surveyed? If, for instance, the surveyed individuals proportion was not momentous as compared to the entirety of the population, then the whole argument would result weakened or, at least, non-empowered by this specific passage in the letter of the manager. A similar theoretical mistake has been done as regards the 90 percent that reported to have felt safe during the tests. The circumstances are very specific: it is about Canbury's residents that were downtown during the tests. How many were they? Again, it seems legit to consider this evidence as crucial to seriously evaluate the importance of these facts.

On the other hand, there is an opaque connection between new jobs and, "thereby", greatly benefits in Canbury's economy. As a matter of fact, it has been assumed that Canbury is lacking job places. However, we are not given any useful specification about this. Is Canbury really wanting new jobs? It could be, on the contrary, that the only economical problem, at the moment, is the necessity of a more expanded market, or, it could be the high demands of primary resources. In other words, there are a plethora of possible circumstances and occurrences that would prove this connection totally non-lucid and irrelevant to the argument.

What is more, there is a weird passage in the argument that does not sound compelling at all. In fact, the author qualifies the surveys on the safety -feelings of the citizens as operated during summer. Hence, it is easy to argue that these researches are not really influent and germane. We cannot, for example, avoid considering the possibility that Canbury is a place almost inhabited during summer, thus preventing the surveys to have a sufficient base of people analyse. Or, on the contrary, Canbury could be so touristic during summer that, incontrovertibly, most of the surveyed individuals have nothing to do with the citizens of the town. Answers to these doubts are to be given to really make the argument coherent.

In conclusion, it is evident that the author did try to give an explanation for his observation on the viability of the manufacturing and selling of the proposed vehicles, that is, that citizens of Canbury should vote in favour of it. Nonetheless, he failed to consistently back his argument up, thus neglecting to furnish the necessary qualifications and data to deeply strengthen his reasoning. It could of course be the case that the president of Plexma Motors holds true in his words, but he is required to make further researches to be more compelling and to make sure he is not somewhat erring in his analysis.