We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Throughout our life we experience sveral successes and failures that, with time, define our personality and qualify our attitude toward life itself. It does not happen by mere chance that older people are considered wiser. It is thus to be discussed which, between our limitations and our achievements, plays the more pivotal role in furnishing us with valuable lessons. As it will be higlighted, while successes surely contribute to the building of ourselves, failures truly teach us the most important values.

First of all, it is germane to better define the meaning of "most valuable lessons". We can comfortably consider valuable lessons those that are necessary to the correct analysis of a specific area of experience. For instance, valuable lessons in our career are those that show us where we erred in the design of our curriculum, thus instructing us how to correct those mistakes. Otherwise, we can also consider valuable lessons those that, in our everyday life, yield to us the way to look at our existence and that teach us how to deal with our human existence. Again, there is also a moral meaning in the expression "valuable lessons": in our relationships, in our sociality, we must learn how to cope with other people, and it usually comes down to learning what are our vices, our bad habits, and how to correct them.

Well, by this view, successes are usefull to infer that we are doing good, that we are choosing the right creer path or that we are behaving well with our related, for example. When at school we get a really good mark, or, better, when we finally graduate, we know that we have done something in the positive and maybe laudable way. However, this does not really teach us anything. What really comes to use are our mistakes, our limitations. As a matter of fact, it is when we quarrel with someone, when we fight, that we express our idiosyincracies and, consequently, our relationing habits. That is the only way we can really see where we have something to change, something to improve in ourselves, and that is what we call a "valuable lesson".

Perhaphs the most evident example we can consider of this mechanism is our health. We are human, naturally bound to a perishable body. When we first experience a heavy malady, an important illness, be it personally or through other people, only then we really understand what we really are. Isn't this one of the most valuable (or maybe the most valuable) lessons we can have in our entire life? And are there really other ways to learn it, maybe that do not require aknowledgement of our greatest phisical limitations? The answer, obviously, is not. We discover what life is when we find out that we are, after all, only humans.

To conclude, considering different fields of our life experience such as maladies, social relationships and job careers, we can easily maintain that struggling with our difficulties do have a fundamental part in the definition of ourselves. In this sense, our limitation give us crucial indications on what we have to reconsider about the field we were not able to succeed in. Thus, it seems legit to almost totally agree with the above sentence, leaving just a little space also to successes that, after all, tell us we are not doing bad.