Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Leaders have always been under interesting analysis, as they represent a mechanism of social organization that recurs in several animal species, human kind included. Why we feel so comfortable in being guided by a leader is to be discussed and, in particular, it is to be deepened the way group demands and leaders’ creation are linked one to each other. In my opinion, it is never a one-sided circumstance: with nuances that depend on different situations, it is usually true that demands do create leaders, and leaders do create demands.

As often happens, referring to our history can give us substantial and pivotal instances to answer to our dilemmas. Politics are, as a matter of fact, an evident field of prolific leading activities. We can, for example, consider Hitler. In the early 20th century Germany, not so differently from the rest of Europe, people were going through what we now call a European fever (the social mechanisms that led to World War II). More particularly, German citizens were demurring about a number of social questions and evident demands of the nation, specifically related to the Jews community and to several economical and geo-political issues. This is not the place to discuss how germane and shrewd these questions were: it is a fact that they resulted in the election of Hitler as president of Germany. Hence, a sequence of national moral and ethical transformation: Hitler gradually waxed the hate and fear against strangers, and enticed his people to follow him in his world-wide well known policies and, then, to his wars. Isn't this a undoubtable evidence of how demands and leaders are strictly correlated, has demands created Hitler and Hitler crated new demands?

Nonetheless, we can underline similar sets of consequentiality in the scientific research world. Academies, colleges, universities: all share the teachers-students structure that consists in lessons and research activities guided by the highest pundits and operated by students and lower researchers. In other words, it is again happening the same cycle: there is a common necessity, a global demand for researches and scientific development, so that professors and scientists are chosen, selected or sometimes even elected to conduct universities and instruct other doctors. At the same time, though, it is incontrovertible that the professors themselves push science toward the direction they are more likely to believe in, maybe because of their penchants, or just because it seems witty to them.

Having analysed these two variegated examples, by which we can almost surely conclude that leaders and demands both play crucial roles of the same game, I would now make use of the philosophy of an ancient thinker, Socrates. In the Greece of the bases of our democracy, Socrates stated that "the human being is a <zoòn politikòn>", that is, a political or social animal. In his aims, he wanted to highlight how we, men, are natural team workers and that, on the other hand, we need team work, social responds, public contact, or, more lucidly, we need friends. And it is properly among friends that we prove how correct the thesis of this essay is: we need to be organized in even small communities, and we also feel the necessity of being guided by someone that, always, stands out as the leader of the group. The demands for a sort of "group management", thus, is what creates a leader among friends... and then, the same leader will help the group itself to have an ever-increasing number of demands to solve as to achieve the perfect community, aligning to the idea of Socrates of human as a social animal.

To conclude, by means of reasoning about politics, science and social systems, it seems wise to infer that leaders are a natural derivative of our approach to community life and activities. By this point of view, leaders are the obvious evolution of our needs to respond to certain demands and, at the same time, they are the individuals who furnish us with even further demands and paths through which we can be guided.