Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Almost every feature of our societies offer chances to carry on a plethora of different researches. While it is to be considered shrewd that in some of these matters, such as social sciences, it is crucial for governments to guide the researchers through a certain number of restrictions, it is also clear that in some other areas, such as medicine and pherhaps space exploration, research agencies need greater freedom.

Medicine has always been a field of flourishing success in humans' research history, bringing us to deal with the worst unimaginable deseases and preventing endemic and noxious pandemies like sifilis or tubercolosis from eradicating our kind. Unfortunately, specifically in this era of capitalization and strong industrialization, medical research is strictly checked by the necessities of an economical income. Consider farmaceutical industry: it has to cope with demanding mechanisms of offer/request and this, by itself, hinders the process of discovering new cures for uncommon deseases (researches for a desease that is rare is seen, of course, as a waste of time). It would be a shame to put even further restrictions on this uncontrovertibly necessary field of science: governments could limit fundings and expect researchers to follow some specific ruled directions, but this would clearly wind up in poorer results. Aligning to this reasoning chain, given that medical research is pivotal and momentous to follow the positive trend in the fighting of our desease we have always had, government restriction would only bring crucial disadvantages to our kind.

The same argument can be propoused for research in space exploration, but slightly differently. In fact, space exploration is an arrestingly funding demanding activity that not only involves important amounts of money and international collaborations, but can also lead to unnecessary wastes and erring policies. For instance, the greatest space agencies in the world are actually public (namely Nasa in America, Esa in Europe, Isa in Italy, Roskomos in Russia): basically, they expect to be funded and subscribed by the nations they lean on. Thus, if it is true that also in this field researchers need to be free from heavy economical or law necessities, it is consistent to deem that space exploration should be regulated by the nations above named so that agencies do not spend too much in researces that would not achieve any important or useful discovery.

On the other side, some sciences can easily fall in some sort of flawed systems: specifically, some univerities and laboratories are leaded by pundits that keep on unconclusive researching paths, thus preventing science to go further in other directions. In this particular occurrence, governmetns should consider their pivotal role in the control over unproductive activities. Social sciences researches, for example, more often end up deepening areas of knowledge that, apparently, have no use for a nation or for the funders: government restrictions would undoubtedly avoid this sort of waste and would let sciences shift to more promising subjects.

As higlighted in this essay, the author of the sentence holds true but only in specific circumstances. It is in fact necessary to make sure that researchers and agencies are monitored as to prevent excessive wastes and unconcluding thesis.