Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

The author asserts that for Nature's Way, as far as in the town Plainsville citizens are particularly keen on healthy life and sports, would prove to be productive to open its next franchise for the town’s residents. Nevertheless, some important flaws are evident in the reasoning chain: for instance, it is quite opaque what relation is to be made between the fitness-for-life program and the interest of the citizens about healthy food, as it is not lucid if the high profits of running shoes are linked to a concrete interest for sport and, what is more, the size of the town (and thus the consistency of the full aerobics classes occurrence) is not further qualified.

While it is to be deemed compelling that children taking part of a fitness-for-life program about the advantages of sport and exercise at an early age are going to be more sensible on the issue, some unconvincing assumptions are made. The specific circumstance of the program is proposed by the author as a mean to maintain that, in the future, children are going to be the "new generation of potential customers". This expects, first of all, that children will keep their interest in regular exercise throughout their life, but it also makes an even heavier and more flawed assumption, namely, that this fitness sensibility will result in some sort of interest for health-related products. Hence, if this proved to be incorrect, the argument would end up being crucially weaker.

A similar unclear assumption is made regarding the shoes commerce. In fact, why would the sales of running and exercise clothing bring any useful info to the argument? The only way for this to happen is, of course, that the sales are related to a general and diffused sensibility about healthiness and fitness (still, it remains unstated why this would be something concretely important for a health food store). What if, for instance, that for running shoes was just a trend, a sort of aesthetic ephemeral penchant? It would be clearly evident that basing an argument on this circumstance is an unreasonable process. Or what if the running shoes stores are the only shops of Plainsville? In all effects, we are furnished no real data about the size of the town or the number of its people.

The considerable size of the town is also the assumption that backs up the consideration about the aerobic and the weight training classes. The author considers correct to derivate, from the fact that these classes are always full, that people are actively interested in health food and, thus, in Nature's Way products. However, we cannot leave untouched the possibility that these classes are not well balanced with the size of the town. For example, the classes could be of a really little number, say just a couple of lessons in a town of hundreds of thousands of citizens. Or, on the contrary, it could be a really little town with no other sport activities offered to its people, so that the only choice would be taking part of fitness classes. In both cases, it is clear the Nature's Way could terribly err if it settled the new franchise without considering the truth behind this assumption, that is, if it does not surveys the number of citizens, of aerobic classes and of other sport activities in the town.

In conclusion, while the argument could effectively suggest a successful franchise to Nature's Way, the author is unable to analyse the various circumstances that, if unwarranted, could weaken the argument itself at a point that Nature's Way would suffer a strong waste of money if it concretely aligned to the proposal.