Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

In recent times, it is sometimes believed that to be an effective teacher the most important qualities are understanding and empathy while others agreed that rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students should be teachers priority. Despite this controversy, I strongly concur to the fact that two great qualities a competent teacher should posses are understanding and empathy towards students. These qualities are significant because of the great relationship that could be achieved between teachers and learners.

To begin with, a school is a place of learning and development of one’s child. However, it will be the other way round when rigorous actions are imposed on students by the teachers because, these actions will create some diversion from the main objective of a school as this could lead to disorder and distraction amongst students. For instance, a child bawled at due to the inability to attempt an assignment, can be disorganized throughout the day and perhaps become dull. Moreover, I believe the need of high expectations in students is not necessary because when this is done and the students did not meet up with the teachers expectations, they tend to feel defeated and inferiority complexity strikes in resulting to difficulties to measure up with others.

Furthermore, an effectual teacher involves the adeptness in understanding the students as well as showing empathy towards students when necessary. This signifies a strong bond between teachers and students enabling the teachers to know their students adequately including their weak point pertaining certain areas of learning. In addition, this is of great advantage because it makes it easier for teacher to enlighten them in a way they can all understand without exceptions. I strongly believe that good communication among the teachers and students can bring about trust and confidence taking out fear from the minds of the students. This simplifies the positive effect of such skills.

Conversely, some people agree that teachers speaking harshly to learners and setting high standards in them could sharpen them and enabling the students to stay focus studying but it is not true owing to the fact that rigorous handling of students could traumatized them which consistently can result to severe health issues. Also subjecting such students to being bullied by other students as they feel less of themselves.

In conclusion, teachers should be able to interact effectively with their students because this serves as a mean to developing students and ensuring success in them, this makes the teachers effective.