The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the Director's memo that UltraClean should be provided to all hand-washing stations across their hospitals due to the laboratory experiment being carried out. However, the author didn't provide additional evidence to support his claim thereby the argument is unsubstantial.

To begin with, the director failed to provide information on whether this laboratory study on UltraClean was tested or used in all the hospitals before concluding that it was of greater quality to the current liquid hand soap. Perhaps, the liquid hand soap was only used in the laboratory to ascertain its quality or maybe the number of people who used it were fewer compare to the number of people who uses the current liquid soap. Therefore, since such information was not given by the director, the argument seem baseless.

However, the writer claimed that subsequent test were carried out in one of their stations but this is not sufficient enough to attain such tenable conclusion. Moreover, the reduction of infected patients in this station does not justify that they used the new liquid hand soap often due to the fact that the memo lack additional details such as, daily statiscal records of the patient who used it or perhap a survey which might have made such assumption logical. Nevertheless, the argument doesn't hold water as this key factors were proposed in the memo.

Clearly, then, we need additional information inorder to understand the strength and weakness of the Director's memo. If the above evidence were provided, maybe the author's argument could have been considered warranted.