The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend Of the two leading real estate firms in our town Adams Realty and Fitch Realty Adams Realty is clearly superior Adams has 40 real estate agents in contrast Fitch has 25 many of whom

The letter provides information about two major real estate firms in a town. On one hand Adams Realty being the best firm to Fitch Realty due to few factors and on the other hand an incident that occurred ten years ago. However, the author's argument is not highly effective to allow such tenable conclusion because of lack of relevant evidence and assumption. Hence, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

To begin with, the argument stated that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty because of the fact that it has more employees almost doubled that of Fitch Realty whose employees only work part-time. This assumption sounds true at first glance but does not justify the reason why Adams Realty should hold superiority because the numbers of employee a firm employs does not depend on how great such company would become but the effectiveness and competencies of its workers whether small or large. Such argument shows no clear evidence about it, thus, does not hold water. Although, the writer presented that Adam's revenue last year was greater than that of Fitch by two-fold as well as its home sales by almost $20000 (Adams' home sales- $168000) but the author only gave instances of a year income. What if Fitch Realty made greater income in previous years than the other firm?, this was not stated in the letter thereby suggesting that such argument is without solid grounds.

In addition, another flaw is that the author concluded that Adams sell homes quicker with a good price after comparing a situation which occurred ten years ago with Flitch and last year with Adams. Conversely, the writer could have given a wrong impression about the Flitch Realty because he did not investigate if they have improved in their services or not presently, rather still carried the same believe of what happened over a decade ago. The argument is however fallacious and need some concrete evidence by the author of the passage to warrant his claims in the passage

Conclusively, the argument seems very unconvincing because the assertions made by the author to weigh both firms are not tangible enough to conclude that Adams Realty is the best to sell ones home. The author should have considered other factors such as efficiency of employees, type of houses sold by both firms and their customer services, maybe then could the assumptions be reasonable.