The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the note, the writer suggests to his or her friend that Adams Realty real estate firm is a more prominent choice for selling a house than its rival. The writer has some unstated assumptions, though, that may have influence on the cogency of his arguments. I am going to mention to a few of them here.

First, all the story is limited to only two firms. It is possible that there are many other agents that can be placed in a better position than that of Adams’s or Fitch’s with respect to the ability of selling homes. Thus, the writer should be able to prove that these two firms are the most distinguished firms in this case.

Second, the fact that Adams has more agencies doesn’t prove necessarily that it will be going to be a better choice. Sometimes this heavy number of agencies causes to poor supervision on agents. That might be even the reason why Adams has a higher income. Maybe agents of Adams require, illegitimately, more money for services. Therefore, the higher number of agents or more revenue do not compel someone to believe that one firm is superior, unless it becomes proven that such items have a direct influence on the degree of success of that firm.

Third, the writer makes an example for justifying the claim that Adams sells faster than Fitch. However, his example would not be free from difficulty. His claim that Fitch sold his home ten years ago badly doesn’t prove that the situation is remained as the same up to now. It is possible that the market for real estate was in a decline ten years ago and that was the reason for tacking months to sell his home. Besides, such businesses depend mostly on chances and cases. One home may be sold very soon because of its potential customers. Another may stand a longer time on list because of the high price that owner demands.

To conclude, I think that all the assumptions mentioned above will engage more considerations for deciding whether Adams is a suitable case for selling homes. The situation of market, the given home’s condition, the owner’s demands for dealing, the real superiority of Adams over its rival(s), and many other things should be considered here. The justifiability of any assumptions about these depends totally on real situations. Therefore, the writer needs to scrutiny more critically on his account of which firm is superior.