Essay topics:

Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The globe refers to the Earth and everything in it from the land, sea, ocean, air as well and life. If humans will continue to live on earth for a long time, from generations to generations, the Earth has to remain habitable. However, with the emissions from cars, generators, industries seeping into our environment, this has a negative effect on the Earth in terms of adulterating the air we breathe, and the water we drink or utilize.

Advocates for environmental sustainability are promoting the careful and efficient use of resources that could affect the climate and the environment at large. This can be seen in the celebration of World Water Day where humans are reminded to use water more efficiently, avoid oil spillage into water bodies that can affect living things habiting there and also to create awareness on the healthy ways to consume water to promote sustainability. Also, use of plastic bags is being prohibited in some countries as plastic is known not to easily decompose hence causes a nuisance to the environment. Others advocate for recycling of plastics instead of continuous production.

In the same vein, just as use of plastic and water are being controlled, so is the energy consumption in our environment. This can be seen through the cars we drive, the generators, the light consumption, that produces carbon mono oxide in the process of their utilization, which is known to adulterate the air we breathe in as living things as well as other living things on Earth. Imagine an environment where everyone uses all the aforementioned ways of energy consumption. That will put a whole lot of pressure on the air, thereby adulterating it at a faster rate. This kind of environment is seen mostly in developed countries where technology has progressed further than other countries and people are more inclined to drive cars, more industries are built leading to more energy consumption.

While others may claim that Global change will occur whether or not adjustments are made to one’s lifestyle, and argue that even in 10000 years to come the Earth will still remain habitable to a great extent, they failed to take into account that rising importance of technology in our everyday live and how this will affect the Earth at a faster rate than it did centuries ago when there was little or no use for energy.

Hence, it is important that the survival of the Earth depends on the way we use the resources in it effectively and efficiently. Even if it means a drastic change in the way we live our lives. In the end, it is all for a greater good of ensuring a sustainable and healthy environment.