The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Talent of musicians are what makes them popular in the first instance as they are being appreciated for their entertaining gift. The prompt asserts that a musician has to be dead before the true talent is appreciated. In my opinion, I agree with this claim with 3 reasons.

Firstly, that a musician is popular today because of a single song released does not make him as relevant tomorrow in his lining state because situations may change and the subject of his art at the time may not be relevant in decades to come. For instance, a Nigerian artist MI Abaga, who is no longer known in the music industry though still living, was known during his hay career years as a very good rap artist. Every club wanted to play his music as well as every radio station. As of today, those songs are stale that no one wants to listen to those songs anymore. They are regarded as old but not classic. That is to say that, the time and height of his fame was only short-lived and hence he cannot be regarded as having real talent.

Secondly, talent is known to stand the test of time with decades of years past for like 20 to 50 decades past. Since humans, or musicians with these talents naturally do not live longer that the average life expectancy of humans which is 70 years, their songs would still be relevant even after their death. The likes of Michael Jackson, Fela Ransom Kuti, Ebenezar Obey are examples of such musicians whose songs are still regarded as relevant till present day. This is mainly because these songs were enriched and the situations they sang about are still happening in our present day society and so people can still relate to them, even people born in the present generation, different from when these musicians were alive and popular.

Some may argue that, there are living legends whose talent is still pure like 2face Idibia, Celin Dion, and many more. In this case, I would agree that what accounts for the true talent of these musicians is not whether they are living or dead but if their art remains relevant to generations and generations to come, of which fame cannot interfare with.