Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Manager of KICK radio station is basing his recommendation for more call in advice programs in order to gain larger audience share in its listening area on the fact that WCQP radio station in Rockville did the same thing and recorded improvements. In so doing, the Manager assumes 3 things being that what applies in Rockville should apply to Medway, also that the survey conducted is wholistic. He also does not consider the nature of call in advice that is popular in Rockville. In as much as the recommendations are valid and can promote success in KICK, it need more support or evidence before resources can be unquestionably diverted to call in advice programs.

Firstly, Rockville could be a town full of people with enough time on their hands and less medium of entertainment to listen to radio stations. A more cosmopolitan city, where there is continuous hussle with many people on the go will have people devoting less time to listen to radio stations not to talk of calling in for advice. It could also be that people live private lives in Rockville, drive their private cars to work instead of taking a bus, hence can tune in to the radio while commuting to work, listen in on the program, and are more likely to call in for advice on an issue in private, when compared to someone who takes the bus, who is less likely to call in and have other passangers listen to his need for an advice on a specific topic. Why not just ask the passengers themselves?

Secondly, the nature of call in advice program could be more specific to relationship advice, family matters, business ideas, examination fever, drug abuse, sexual abuse, rape, stalker, etc. One topic may interest people more than the other. Hence it could be that Rockville centered on a specific topic that majority of people could relate to and dial in seeking for advice. For instance, a call in advice for birthday gifts might increase call ins as millions of people celebrate birthdays every day when compare to a call in advice centered on business ideas as not everyone has a business idea every day and will need advice on. Infact people are less likely to call in seeking for advice on a business idea. They would rather actually want to meet one on one with experts for areas of improvement.

Lastly, the survey may not have been holistic enough to capture everyone’s views on call in advice programs. Even though it is stated that a nation wide view survey was conducted. It could have only captured interest of those who listened to radioprograms. How about those who do not listen. How can they be captured as they also make for the population that can be captured and added to listeners of a program. How do we grab their attention and turn them from radio haters to radio lovers?

In conclusion, if the manager of KICK is more specific in terms of the particular type of call in advice program, and is more realistic with regards to the nature of Medway as against Rockville, then his recommendations can be given more thought. Also a more holistic survey should be carried out in Medway to ascertain if indeed Medway radio station listeners like call in advice programs.