Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Modern society is facing many changes and sometimes these are many problems that may need smart solutions. In fact, globalization has caused that all people face problems and get affected by them soon or later. The prompt recommends that different issues cannot be solved by laws and the legal system because people’s heart cannot be ruled and changed by laws. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this argument for several reasons.

Firstly, the legal system and laws are one of the branches of the government and it is the foundation of order for a country. As we know the three branches need to work in accordance and in balance for the good of their subjects. For example, laws were invented very long ago and are a sign of civilization. The history has proven that countries with a strong legal system ruled longer and flourished .They were inspiration for the next generations and their governments to rule by laws and a good legal system. This is similar to the road systems that help people connect and live a normal life. Without structure, life of citizens is a constant chaos and this may lead to mass abuse.

Secondly, laws facilitate the life of a nation by controlling and reassuring the public interest is protected. The good and evil go together and there needs to be a balance. People need protection from not right actions that some groups or individuals might take against others. For example, what some people find good for their heart, it might hurt somebody else. Further, even if we assume that laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds one still has to act according to the laws, because there is no other choice than the laws. People may find laws cruel, but they can find comfort in other places or ways, like family, church or other communities. Research has shown that rules and laws as the highest from the importance are needed everywhere to make things run smoothly. Even a family, a classroom or a school cannot last without these especially when disagreements happen.

Of course , some argue that in our increasingly globalized world laws are not needed and heart should rule. If we do so, we are likely to fail the peace and order. Just like the roof of a house needs tiles to protect it from sun and rain, people need laws to protect them in good and trouble days.