In any profession - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years

I agree with the statement that some leaders who are in power should step down after five years in some territories, such as politics.

Political leaders who are in power stepping down after five years can prevent the government from corrupting. Take KMT as an example. From 1949 to 2000, this party grasped regime for half a century, and no one could affect their political decisions. This party generated a good deal of wrong policies, such as killing many innocent people in 1950s and other corrupting scandals, causing many negative effects on Taiwanese society. This situation continued to 2000, another party named DPP replaced KMT becoming the ruling party and fulfilled the first parties turning in Taiwan. After this major event, people in Taiwan could exercise their democratic rights to choose a better candidate in every selection. If the ruling party cause some corrupting scandals, the public could utilize their votes to select other statemen to resolve these issues. By contrast, if DPP hadn’t obtain the regime in 2000, Taiwan might still have been ruled by a cruel dictator and Taiwanese people could haven’t been able to relish the positive influences of democracy.

Opponents may argue that if the leader in a world-class enterprise being required to step down after five years the business can’t be able to exercise their policies efficiently. TSMC, which is the top-notch semiconductor company in the entire world, may be a suitable example. In 1986, the founder of TSMC, Morris Chang, established this business, and he was recommended to take the position of president because of his first-rate capability of management. Under his firm leadership, He made lots of imperative decisions, and TSMC entered a golden age. In this period, TSMC only focused on manufacturing semiconductor chips instead of designing these chips. Therefore, TSMC thrived at a tremendous rate and became a major business partner with many well-known enterprises, such as Apple and Nvidia. In 2020, TSMC has become the biggest semiconductor chip manufacturing company in the entire world, this extraordinary achievement could totally prove Morris Chang’s capacity of management. In contrast, if Morris Chang had only served as president of TSMC a few years, this enterprise might haven’t been capable of developing into the biggest semiconductor company in the entire world.

Therefore, in some territories, such as business or education, the leader can stay in their original position for a longer period. Because only if the companies are managed by the same person, the companies’ policies will be stable and make themselves have a better development in the future. However, in other fields, such as politics, the leaders should be examined by the public to avoid them from corrupting, thus, they should require people who are in power should step down after five years. Because if the political leaders grasp the power for a long time and no other people can supervise them, these political leaders will become more and more arbitrary. Furthermore, it will be more likely that many corrupting events will break out in this terrible situation. Democratic countries can build the government’s term of office to avoid the government to corrupt. For example, In Taiwan, the term of office of the president is four years, and if the government cannot turn in an outstanding performance, they will not be selected again by the public.

To sum up, in some certain fields, such as politics, those in power should step down after five years. Yet, in other fields, like business, people who are in charge should keep them lead the whole company to develop.