Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

Colleges offer lots of intriguing courses to students. This will raise the question of if universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. I agree that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

First of all, students can combine the skills of their original field with other territories, such as software engineering combining with finance. Take me previous experience as an example. When I was an undergraduate, I majored in computer science at the National Taiwan University. I learned lots of professional knowledge, such as data structure and algorithm, which were foundation knowledge in computer science. However, I thought that these courses couldn’t satisfy me because I wanted to engage in finance industry in the future. Therefore, I chose to attend some financial courses held by department of finance, such as the principle of economics, from which I could gain a good deal of practical knowledge. Besides, I participated in many economically related projects from these courses, such as stock-related phone application, in which users could search for lots of instant information about certain company. By contrast, if I had only studied computer science courses, I might have not been able to obtain this financial knowledge.

Second, students can broaden their vision through take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I once attended many different territories of courses, such as the rise and fall of the British Empire. In this class, professor divided students into many groups and required us to discuss and generate a detailed report about this period. To achieve this goal, I and my teammates spent lots of time to research many different papers and exchange our thoughts. One of my teammates was from the United Kingdom, therefore, he could provide us with most detailed information, such as colonies changes in Victoria period, which directly affected the country power of the British Empire. Furthermore, we could also understand many intriguing cultures being inherited from the period of the Great British Empire, such as “The Commonwealth Games”. With his help, we could accomplish this project in time. As a result, we could extend our vision and acquire lots of interesting knowledge which couldn’t be obtained from computer science courses. In contrast, if I hadn’t chosen to attend this course, I might have not been capable of understanding these abundant historical facts about the Great British Empire.

Some opponents may argue that their lives are filled with works or studies, and they don’t have spare time to participating in these courses outside their professional fields. However, many colleges will offer a good deal of these courses with low burdens. Student will only need to finish some simple projects or reports instead of taking some exams. Courses which are related to politics or history only requires students to share their ideas in the class and will not place heavy burdens on students. Therefore, colleges should encourage students to learn some knowledge outside their professional fields.

To sum up, I agree with the statement that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. On one hand, students can combine the skills of their original field with other territories. On the other hand, students can broaden their vision through take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.