Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The manager suggests Happy Pancake House restaurants should replace butter by margarine. However, the evidence offered by the author is insufficient.

The author claims that only a few customers have complained. However, the remaining customers may not like margarine, too. Because they are busy office workers and must grab a meal in a short time, and therefore they will not have enough time to finish the surveys. Furthermore, most people will not want to leave a negative about the restaurant, yet they will choose to response these questionnaires positively and extol this restaurant’s pros. As a result, more convincing information about customers’ favor is needed.

Also, we need to know about the accuracy of these surveys. If these surveys were based on a majority of this region, then we could totally believe the results of these surveys. However, if these surveys were only conducted by two hundred people, and there were more than two million people living in this area, and then the results of the questionnaires would not be convincing. Therefore, the author must provide more complete data about the results of these surveys, including the number of people doing these questionnaires, how much time they finishing these surveys.

The memo states that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Nevertheless, these servers might cheat on their reports to acquire better performance assessments. For example, Happy Pancake House restaurants might give their servers more bonus because these servers provided some reports which the restaurants were expected. Thus, we need more compelling information about servers’ reports.

The author points out that avoiding the expense of purchasing butter could increase the profits. However, the profit margins may only two or three dollars, and this will not produce huge profits for these restaurants. Furthermore, the demand for margarine may decrease in the next couple of years, and the customers may return to ask for more butter instead of margarine finally. As a result, the author must present a more detailed data about the profitable possibility of using margarine, such as the difference of cost between butter and margarine.

To strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide more information as above mentioned.