The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president of Grove College and the director of the alumnae have opposing views on whether the all-female college should begin accepting male students. However, they both must answer the following questions to strengthen their claims.

The president states that other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation. Yet, Can Grove College produce the same result as other schools? Not every school can generate a result as good as these schools which has adopted coeducation successfully. For example, if these successful colleges are located in the downtown, they will be easier to recruit the students both men and women. However, if other schools are located in the rural areas, and there are more women than men, these colleges will not be able to recruit male students easily. Furthermore, having more students will need more funds to run the school, and Grove College cannot assure that it has enough capital to fulfill this coeducation program. On top of that, other school may have some potent accesses to acquire the subsidies from the government. It does not mean that Grove College can have the same opportunity to get enough funds.

The director of the alumnae claims that two surveys of incoming students and Grove alumnae both show that these students and alumnae want to keep the tradition of all-female education. However, are these surveys have reliable results? When these students were doing these surveys, they might not have enough time to think about the questions in the questionnaire seriously. Thus, these respondents might cheat on these surveys. Most importantly, the author didn’t provide us with the surveys’ information, including how many respondents were participating in these surveys, and where were these respondents from. There might be more than two thousand incoming students in Grove College in the past years. Therefore, if these surveys were only based on twenty incoming students, these results would be highly suspect.

The coeducation may somewhat bring a few benefits for Grove College, but the author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his or her argument.