The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We, therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The developers of Monroe city believe that a Jazz music club, named C Note will deliver profitable outcomes. But whether they are talking about long term or short term profit is not known.The assumption made to predict this outcome is based on their observation that the only Jazz music nearest to the city is 60 miles away from Monroe. The developers have also made assumptions on the popularity of Jazz leading them to the prediction. However, the prediction is based on dubious assumptions, and does not consider several other factors.

The fact that the nearest jazz club is 60 miles away from Monroe needs to be reconsidered before leading in to the notion that Monroe city needs a jazz night club. It is probable that there is no night club in Monroe because the people are not interested in Jazz. Or maybe the people lead very busy lives to devote their night time to Jazz. This could be a reason why others, wanting to start a Jazz night club in Monroe chose not to. And the Jazz night club 60 miles away was located that way because of less profitability from Monroe citizens.

Moreover, the evidence that over 100,000 attended Monroe's Jazz festival last summer is not based on strong grounds. The question is: what percent of the people who attended this festival were from Monroe? And if this strength accounts for a considerable population on Monroe? Here some quantification of poulation of festival attendees and overall population of Monroe is needed to answer these questions. It is possible that out of the huge crowd that attended the festival, very few were from Monroe, and thus, a very small population of Monroe likes Jazz. It is also likely that around the time of the year the festival was conducted, Monroe city and it's people weren't that busy, and for leisure chose to attend the festival. So the question that comes up is that out of the ones who attended, how many actually like Jazz?

The statement about Jazz musicians living in Monroe is very vague. A survey that studies the reason for them to reside in Monroe by asking relevanr set of questions on their income, way of living can give a vivid idea about the reason. Thus, is is not necessary that jazz musicians living in Monroe means Monroe city likes Jazz. These musicians choose to live in Monroe because the cost of living in Monroe is less, and comes well within the modicum amount the jazz musicians earn. There is no proof that these Jazz musicians are well established or at the struggle stage. And are the jazz musicians more in number than people of other music genres in Monroe?

Finally, the survey to know about a typical jazz fan doesn't explain the representative set. Here the question arises as to who form the sample set for the survey from across the nation, and are these people from Monroe too? If yes, what percent of the people surveyed are from Monroe? Also, there is a doubt as to whether this survey conducted nationally includes only Jazz fans or goes beyond this limit?

Thus, the developers need to look deeper, survey better to understand the jazz fans situation in Monroe.

And therefore, the prediction that C Note will be a tremendously profitable enterprise is not steadfast.