The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The argument to the Seatown University president believes in faculty retention through free tuition to the children of the faculty members, thereby enhancing the morale among faculty and luring them to Seatown University. The argument, however, does not consider several other factors discussed later because of which prove it's weakness.

The study conducted at Oceania University is not very clear to the readers. What methods of the study led to the conclusion that Oceania faculty retains because of the free tuition to their own children? It could belie the actual reason for faculty retention. Probably, the faculty retention is because of the standard of education at Oceania and thereby the reputation it awards to the faculty members as perceived in the educational institutions across other state(s) or nation(s).

The argument only talks of higher faculty retention which is misleading. The faculty strength at Oceania might exceed that of other institutions and thus, when compared with other institutions, Seatown University in this case, the retention numbers are higher. Without quantifying the exact number of faculty members retaining their jobs at Oceania against the total count at both Universities, the argument remains vague.

The free tuition might only be a scheme offered, however, not all faculty members send their children to Oceania. Similarly, if this scheme is adopted at Seatown University, it does not guarantee the faculty will avail it. It also depends on the willingness of the faculty members in doing so. And so it may fail to lure new professors. The courses offered at Seatown University must be the ones the children are willing to undertake. Without that, the scheme is futile for some faculty. It may thus, falsify the claim that faculty retention depends on this scheme.

The argument in the letter to the president of Seatown University needs to be strengthened by quantifying the people on whom the study was performed, the faculty members who are availing the offer of free tuition for their children and the count of the faculty retaining their job at the Oceania University. Also, another study must be conducted that corroborates the interest of the Seatown University faculty in availing the scheme, and how many are flexible about it for their college-aged children.