Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are many different types of courses offered by universities, such as physics and calculus. This will raise the question of whether educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students. I partially agree with the statement.

Because students will be more motivated to learn what they are interested in. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I majored in computer science at the National Taiwan University. The department of computer science would offer lots of practical selective courses for senior students each year, such as artificial intelligence and augmented reality. Because artificial intelligence had been the mainstream field at that time, a good deal of students suggested the college to provide this kind of courses. Also, the students could freely choose the courses which they were interested in most, and I and best friend, John, chose artificial intelligence as our selective courses. This course was taught by the well-known professor in Taiwan, Steve Lee, and he would require the students to finish a project with their teammates in this course. Our team chose chatbot as our topic, and we utilized many useful software tools, such as pytorch and python, to improve our the performance of our chatbot. Furthermore, we also studied lots of papers to understand those mathematical concepts used in artificial intelligence, and this knowledge could help us to realize the many advanced skills of artificial intelligence. Finally, we finished this project successfully and won the first prize in the contest of this course. After graduation, I also obtained lots of opportunities of interview from many top-notch companies, such as Google and Amazon, because of this chatbot project. By contrast, if I had not chose to attend this course, I might have not been able to learn this professional knowledge and receive these working chances from these world-class enterprises.

Indeed, opponents may argue that there are many courses being abstract and complicated. For example, if some students from the department of physics are extremely interested in the theory of relativity, then there may be just a few professors can offer this kind of course. Because this professional knowledge is really complicated for most people, and if these students want to fully understand the theory of relativity, then maybe Albert Einstein is the only person who can satisfy their needs. As a result, we cannot ask the universities to provide a variety of courses of each field as the colleges will need to pay an astronomical amount of money for these courses, or these courses can be only taught by a few famous people.

However, if the students required the colleges to offer some courses studied by a great number of professors, then the educators should think about providing these students with these courses. For example, if some students from the department of mechanical engineering want to learn some basic programming knowledge, then the college should require the department of computer science to offer these basic courses for these students from other departments. With this policy, the students can learn the courses which they are interested in most, and the colleges can also easily find the professors of this field to teach these students.

To sum up, I partially agree the statement. The college should provide the students with the courses which they are interested in, but these courses should not be too complicated to find suitable professors to teach these courses.