Agree or disagree: the rapid growth of the cities has mostly positive impacts on society.

There are a great number of big-scale cities in modern society. This will raise the question of whether the rapid growth of the cities has mostly positive impacts on society. In my opinion, I will disagree with that statement.

First of all, the rapid growth of the cities will cause lots of different types of pollution. Hsinchu city will be a suitable example. Decades ago, this city was just an undeveloped and destitute area but there weren’t environmental issues here. In the 1970s, the Taiwanese government decided to invent an extremely huge amount of funds to introduce high-tech industry in Hsinchu city. With this announcement, a good deal of corporations thrived, such as TSMC and Media Tek, which were top-notch businesses in the world. However, these types of enterprises would consume much electricity and manufacture a variety of pollution, like air pollution or water pollution. Therefore, with the rapidly-growing economy, the local government also had to cope with these environmental issues. Fortunately, the government proposed a series of environmentally protective policies greatly cooperating with these big companies to solve these tough problems. In contrast, if the cities don’t grow at a fast rate, these troubles will not be produced.

Second, the rapid growth of the cities will pose the quickly-rising crime rate. Taichung city will be a compelling instance. Decades ago, Taichung city was just a rural area, and the crime rate was really low there. However, in the 1980s, uncounted industries were established in this city, like banking, which would also bring in much capital. With these funds, Taichung cities could develop diverse forms of industries, such as restaurants or hotels. However, because there would be countless benefits involved in these fields, such as property or wealth, there would also produce lots of contention. It would make the crime rate rise more rapidly than before. Therefore, the local government chose to formulate some regulations to fight crime, like “criminal organization prevention law”, which obtained an extraordinary effect. By contrast, if the cities develop at a slow rate, it wouldn’t cause these extremely severe issues.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I disagree with the statement. On one hand, the rapid growth of the cities may cause many different types of pollution. On the other hand, the rapid growth of the cities would also contribute to the quickly-rising crime rate.