The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Competition helps a person brings out the best version of itself, while cooperation brings out the best version of the solution possible for any situation. Here the topic says that, the best way for a society to prepare young leaders for important roles is to teach them cooperation over competition. Personally, I agree with the statement, that cooperation helps you understand the best possible option to take in any situation and more often helps you take some far-sighted decisions that you couldn't conclude yourself. However, I don't particularly agree with the all or nothing attitude of the statement, suggesting that this is the best way possible, cause some situations will require you to go head to head with others to bring out the best version of yourself.

Firstly, coooperation helps people realise that they aren't the only people who have the the organization's best interest at heart. Whenever there is a problem, a best leader is one who huddles up with their team amd discusses the best stratergy to go forward. Cooperatioon brings in the support of people. that incase any decision goes wrong, you have a team of people to help you find the next best solution. In accordance with that, cooperation also helps you take the most pragmatic decisions, which in turn will help you run your organization in the most efficacious way possible.

Secondly. once you reach at the leadership positions in any field, encouraging competition will only increase your enemies, and when you reach the top, you need more allies than ill-wishers. Thirdly, when we consider top leaders in govermental organizations, one thing they all have in common is the ability to unite people and come to a concensus. There will be numerous times when you don't agree with the party's policies, but in those times sticking together and finding an amicable solution is a better apporach then taking on your political allies. A great leader is formed when they really learn the meaning of the phrase "together we stand, divided we fall."

Finally, before concluding, we can take an example for corporates or other industries as well. You will always encounter decisions, where you don't always agree with your colleagues and tend to feel as if only you can take the right calls. Here, having a long exhaustive chat, clearing out viewpoints and cooperating to reaching an optimal solution is the more logical approach over creating animosity and competition among the people who have the firm's best interests in mind.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that cooperating with people who come from different walks of life will make you look for solutions that a single mind isn't capable of, but the generalization that that's the best way to lead organizations is a little flawed.