A nation should require all of its students to study in the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education is one of the most important backbones of a strong and developing country. Here, the topis says that a nation should require all of its students to study in the same national curriculum until they enter college. I agree with the part that says that the centralized education systems will be of great benefits to the student, but the "should require" part of enforcing it is where I have my reservations. Thus, I agree with all the students studying under same curriculum, but the all or nothing attitude around it seems excessive.

Firstly, the quality of education in a centralized system can be maintained quite easily. When one body governs what syllabus to be taught across the nation, then the adaptability to changes and improvements can be very quick. Per instance, if some new subject or course about new tech/social skills has to be added to the syllabus, then it would be particularly easy to do in a solo governing body. In accordance with that same curriculum will help as, despite the economic disparity among the masses, they can gain the same quality of education and create a equal merit-based system throughout the nation. Secondly, the common national curriculum, will help teachers to prepare for their courses better and thus help facilitate the child's education to the best of their abilities.

Furthermore, coming from the advantages of the system to the advantages to the students. One nation, one curriculum will eradicate the entrance tests required by schools currently, in turn helping them reduce the mental and physical stress put on these students at an early age. This proposed system will also help the students of itinerant families have a consistent education, as now they can shift locations without having to worry about the gap in education levels of various schools.

Finally, before concluding, even though most of the statement has many aspects to make you consider it, but that should be done only if we are fully aware of the shortcomings of the "all or nothing" attitude. Every student is different from the other, and there are some who may not flourish in this type of curriculum. Students with special needs, or some who require personal attention on some topics will languish at the negative end of this procedure. Along with that, if the curriculum is same for everyone, then will make it an easy scapegoat and take away the incentive for schools to provide quality education to the children (as rankings will now be an obsolete parameter).

In conclusion, I am completely supporting the formation of a unitary curriculum till colleges, but only if the forcing nature of implementation and the need of every student is catered to by the education board.