The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the manager’s intention of increasing profitability by avoiding the expense of purchasing butter for his pancake house restaurants may be a good idea but the explanations and reasons that it bases its conclusion on is insufficiently supported. To back his hypothesis, the manager needs to provide additional information to properly evaluate the claim.

In the memorandum, the manager reports that only 2 percent of customers complained for butter being replaced by margarine in most of Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. However, without having a proper figure tying this 2 percent of customers to the total number, we cannot, henceforth, evaluate the manager’s statement. The 2 percent of a million customers stands significantly great in number with almost 20 thousand customers complaining over the replacement, and taking their complaints into consideration will have an influence on their overall business efficiency. Conversely, the same figure tied to merely 100 customers would be a smaller number to take their complaint into consideration and rather ignore. Thus, without informed about the proper figure on the number of complaints reported, the argument cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

Furthermore, the report also claims that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine. The servers that reported this assertion does not provide much information on the what general number of people never complained when given margarine in place of butter. If the number is significantly less compared to total number of customers complained, this statement also fails in providing support to the argument. On the other hand, how many servers reported this information and in what specific locations were the customers okay with replacement? These are the questions that require answers to support the manager’s argument.

Additionally, the manager also hypothesizes by saying that people didn’t know to distinguish butter from margarine. However, there is no information provided on the difference between the chemical structure or the chemical compounds of both butter and margarine. Did people actually couldn’t distinguish or did they accept margarine as a substitute for other qualities it provided apart being a component used for making pancakes? Did the margarine serve to benefit people with their health? Or because of the expense instituted on products with butter, they accepted margarine as a substitute, that comes at lower expense? There is no or survey conducted to enquire about this. Therefore, without the necessary supporting evidences, the argument cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

The manager’s argument, although, intends to exercise profitable business by substituting butter, thereby reducing the expenses, lacks support to proceed with the stated data and requires much more evidences to incorporate the new business strategy. However, with the necessary additional evidences, the manager can decide whether or not to implement this strategy.