Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is a widely accepted fact that the brain of all human beings are either being more inclined to logic i.e. understanding of things and applying them as per situations or more focused on learning i.e. knowing of things taught to us and then applying those. So a person gains expertise either through his own capability of conscious mind or through consciousness of things being taught to him/her. So the question arises which is feasible? Is it logic or learning for advancement of a single individual in any specific field of professionalism he choose.This is actually a relative choice, some person really have an aptitude more on understanding on his own knowledge basis and some get to know things form learning surrounding facts.As for me, understanding ideas and concepts logically is the path to all solution professionally and even personally.Various reasons can be cited to support my belief, some of which can be stated as follows:-

First, understanding of concepts and ideas brings flexibility. When you try to know certain things in your own capacity, asking questions to oneself about why, how, what, comprises such things you gain knowledge at its highest level.The very core of the things are already recognized by your mind , now when situation arises you can apply your knowledge as things fit. For instance, if a person is a Doctor and rather than just applying medical facts that what disease caused to him and giving patient general medicines as taught to him, if he understands and reads each specific symptoms of patient, their medical history on what has given rise to such disease or what can be done to alleviate the pain, then the patient can be treated more efficiently rather than giving him a random medicine out of the knowledge procured by the doctor in medical schools. Our life is diverse, and understanding creates the capacity on us to be flexibe to such diverse situations.

Further, when we understand things, the hypothalamus part of our brain absorbs the very nature of the thing. It means that when we understand things we tend to remember it better than when we just learn and mug up facts. For instance, in my high school, I have seen most of my friends including me were more interested in doing laboratory classes rather than mere theoretical classes for the subject of biology. On asking they said that laboratory actually shows the practical aspects of any creature and it naturally gets absorbed in their mind rather than theories where they have to give effort to learn things.

In conclusion it can be said that understanding of things gets a better grasp on the things than learning.