Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20% more to construct its dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required approximately 10% more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to construct another new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph Construction

The argument states that as the original cost of development from aleph construction is less as compare to gimmel builders, the school should hire aleph builders for another development however the cost analysis needs to be a little more thorough and the conclusion make few assumptions which need further dissection.

We have been told that two buildings are nearly identical, not identical, we will need to first answer this-are there any distinctions which could increase the cost by a substantial amount? like there is a statue of any founder in one building and not in other which costs very dearly and it won't be needed in a new one, so we need to register all distinctions and their cost must be analyzed before any decision.

The percentages mentioned are vague and not giving details on what absolute value will they be calculated, for example, gimmel took 20% more to construct but 20% of what? similarly, the base of aleph's 10% maintenance cost is also not mentioned, before not knowing what exactly is the base of these percentages it will be very difficult to make a judgment

if all the percentages are taken to be as true and costing to their respective building with the base then, let us assume aleph construction spent $10k for their building, and if we take the word of prompt true-Gimmel Builders took approximately 20% more to construct its dormitory, gimmel will spend $12k which will be overall cost since no cost in maintenance is spent. however, if what the prompt says is true-aleph the dormitory has required approximately 10% more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years which will equate to $5k hence the overall cost will become $15k,$3k more than gimmel's dormitory. in this case, hiring gimmel construction is more apt then aleph construction. This is the complete opposite of the conclusion

We need to answer a few things before making any decision like what distinctions between buildings are and what does the cost entails in those distinctions, whether those costs are one time or not. we will also need to know the base of which the mentioned percentages are acting