The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument states that even though ratings from reviewers have increased yet fewer people have attended super screen produced movies, the argument is based is a series of assumptions like what set people are reviewing the movies, do they have any taste? etc.any single unwarranted assumption can have an adverse effect on the recommendation of spending more money in educating potential viewers about these reviews

The memo says from "Past year", the time frame mentioned is very vague and can raise many questions regarding the trend they observed, this trend can be seasonal, for example, People in the rainy season might not be that inclined to venture out for watching a movie in the theatre. similarly is there any decrease in viewing from any particular region? a little more dissected data on demographics, time, region level might help them in making aa more informed decision.

Are reviewers neutral and not inclined towards any particular genre? if yes this might encourage them to rate any movie higher irrespective of the plot and quality of the movie, so before making any decision, the company must ask themselves, are ratings provided are credible enough and can be used as a representative for that particular movie for prospective customers. along with their inclination, are they watching the entire movie not just rating them by watching half? before making any decision a more thorough inspection of the reviewer's rating is necessary.

Another assumption the memo mentions is that the public's lack of awareness about the availability of good movies, what kind of evidence the company has that compelled it into making this statement? the public might be aware they just chose not to watch it on the super screen produced movies or maybe watched from any other online source which of the company is unaware of. they might have watched any other movie of the same genre from a different production. the company needs to make sure that the reviews are reaching to potential customers

The arguments rest on various unwarranted assumptions and investing in marketing could lead to huge financial loss if these questions are not answered before