Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The academic courses we thought in the school are many times outdated or very different as compare to the outside world, even if not different the application of the same principles varies a lot, the relevant experience helps a lot in explanation, but it should be worth.

The curriculum of most of the academic courses are not in line with the current technology the world possess, I would like to start with an example of CRTs and LCD television, in our school curriculum, the CRTs are explained at great depth even though they are the thing of the past, In such scenarios, if the faculty have worked in the production company of LCDs they would be better equipped to teach the students both CRTs and LCD, The student will get to learn about both aspects of tech irrespective whether the curriculum includes the LCD or not.

The principles we learned in the school and the application of the same principles varies a lot in the real world and real-world brings a lot of challenges to even apply the same principle, for example, in database subject in computer science, we are often only thought the how to use them and how to process and extract data at small scale but in the real world we are dealing with data at very huge scale, like data in gigabytes sizes, this brings in the whole set of new problems like size issues, processing power to say some, if faculty have worked on hands of in such scenarios they will teach the students not just the academics but the also the real-world problems that they have to deal with in later stages of their life

All this is very tempting, to say the least, but implementing such policies would require the cost which school have to bear and if the outcome of the policy is not worth the cost, they could be depriving themselves of using the same money in a better way, not just the cost, working outside of academics in relevant is time consuming and the faulty have to do sufficient management so that they don't get overwhelmed with the duties

So having experience in relevant industries helps a lot in academics but that experience should be worth and should produce the intended result.