Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, U.S. statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road

The argument states that Flying is safer than driving because of a smaller number of accidents annually. however, the argument makes a series of unsolicited assumptions and would need and revision even if any of these assumptions might not come true.

US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in-flight accidents however these numbers are absolute and can paint a very misleading picture, for instance, let's say those 40,000 deaths in the automobile sector are caused from the denominator of 1 million drivers and 200 flight accidents caused from the denominator of 1000, now espousing towards flying looks scary, without the knowledge of the overall count of both the sectors, declaring one safe over another will be premature.

The argument also assumes that the infrastructure of both sectors are incomparable state but what if few roads are poorly developed or are in haphazard condition and contributes majorly to the accidents as compared to other, so before knowing the state of the infrastructure of both the sectors would be infelicitous

Also, we don't the distribution of these deaths, for example of all the 200 death in-flight accident occurred due to just one accident or one crash out of hundreds of flights thus having information on the nature of deaths and accidents of both the sector would help in making bolstering or weakening the conclusion

The argument informs us that pilots are less likely to be in an accident, four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road, this study lacks the data of the competency of both the sectors, what if the pilots use in the study are of top class and drivers are use of below mediocre, this would seriously qualify the conclusion if the drivers and pilots used are not of comparable skills in their respective domain

The argument made a series of unstated assumptions and If anyone of the suppositions contained in the argument proved false, the conclusion would be factually wrong