“In last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by Miller. Subsequently, Keating won the election by a narrow margin. This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The author suggests that for Miller to win the mayoral elections he has to focus more on environmental issues. This argument is based on the last election experience, which witnessed Miller defeat because he did not give these topic enough attention. However, the author support this argument with unwarranted assumptions that could make it invalid.

First of all, the author assumes that ,in the last election, Miller’s opponent, Keating, was nearly defeated, was not for her last minutes campaign on television about preserving natural environment. This idea is not supported by any evidence, expect polls’ results. Poll result are certainly indication, however, nobody can rely on them to conclude such definitive conclusion. Polls depends of approximate statistical criteria within margin of error. These criteria differ from poll to another. Hence, if the author only rely on this evidence, this will undermine his argument. Unless the author is assuming that the Poll results are very accurate, which is very difficult to prove.

Secondly, the author suggestion for the the upcoming election is neglecting the current status of the society, in fact, he assumed the people priorities remain unchanged. Yes, lessons from past elections is very helpful in planning election campaigns. However, current society dynamics are the essential factors that would shape the upcoming election. If environmental issues are no longer a big concern, or other urgent agenda is taking the priority, focusing on natural preservation will not be effective.

Finally, the author assumes that is no other flaws in Miller’s campaign except for his slogans or promises. In election, having the right cause and slogans is not the only factor that lead to winning. In fact, modern election depends heavily on media and public outreach. If Miller has defects in his outreach strategy he will face the same problem in the next election, regardless of his slogans.

There is not sufficient evidence to say that by focusing on preserving environment during the election, Miller will win. The author reached this conclusion using many unstated assumptions that require proof in first place.