Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Essential part of any lively political system is public critisim for those on power. You cannot talk of democratic system if there is no press that monitor and inform the public of the events and political decisions being made. Usually, corperate media was dominating this arena and have been the main source for information and the main platform for political discourse in the United States. However, recently, with increase use the internet network among Americans, a new platform have emerged. Blogs, social media outlets and streaming website have provided an alternative to the mainstream media, where any individual can express his opinion and disseminate it as he wish. This new development added a new element to the public sphere that will enrich the political arena.

Corperate media, although provide a critical view for many politcians, it is also connected to many political wings in the United States. Hence, it cannot be describe as completely impartial source. Here comes the importance of the internet platforms in providing a voice for the voiceless. This means, that a new independent platform is available to put those in power accountable. In light of recent gun voilence, strong lobbies are preventing actions against putting more restrictions on gun laws, however, ordaniry indviduals used social network to rally in favor of more restrictions, which eventually forced politicans to address this case.

Moreoever, this development have introduced a new concept in journalism, called citizen journalisim. Media outlets cannot send reporter to every single town in the country, so many events go uncovered. Nowadays, the public and the media can follow any news from any location in map on live, because every town has citizens with platforms on the internet. No longer can politcian hide any news from the public.

Of course, these inernet platform have introduced new challanges. Traditional media have editors and riggorous precedure to aprove any material before publishing. This process is not available for the internet platform, which means that a lot of inaccurate reports and materials are being published. But the question remains, are the benefits outweigh the disadvantages? Clearly the answer is yes. Especially when you see how influencial the internet platform in politics. We saw how the Egyptian revolution was started from the internet and was able to oust a 30-year ruler of the country.

Blogs, social media outlets and streaming websites are alternative and additional voice to the mainstream media that can support the progress of the political system. This new development added a new element to the public sphere that will strengthen it rather than weaken it.