The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author of the article is presenting a case of a commercial product, Promofoods tuna, which was recalled for testing after numerous reported complaints from costumers. Costomers reported side effects like dizziness and nausea after consuming this product. The author is reporting that after 8 million can recalled, testing showed that no health hazard associated with the product. However, despite that the author supported his argument with the result of the chemist testing, his argument is not sufficient to reach the conclusion.

It is good action done by the producer that 8 million cans of the product were recalled after customers reports, but the most important step is to verify the health status of the product. The author mentioned that testing was done to evaluate the cans, though he did not mention what was the sample size. Of course not all 8 million recalled cans were tested, hence it is important that the sample population was representative. Cans which resulted in costumer’s complaints could be from a certain patch, therefore, it is vital to know if the testing have covered all patches. Otherwise, if the test was limited to a certain patch, the test results will not provide sufficient clues regarding the health status of the subject product.

Secondly, the author is telling us that the test was done by a chemist form Promofoods, the producer of the tuna cans. This fact by itself raises questions regarding the impartiality of the test result. Also, was the chemist qualified enough to perform this kind of studies? Was the test result confirmed by a neutral third-party lab? These factors are crucial to identfiy the credibility of the test results. Not answering these questions will render the author’s argument unconvincing.

The author mentioned that 8 chemicals were investigated in order to identify if the cans are the root cause of the reported side effects. However, the author need to provide more information if these 8 chemicals are the only possible causes for nusea and dizziness. Also, giving that the testing have found 3 of these chemicals in the cans, more investigation is needed. The author’s claim that these 3 chemicals are naturally occuring in canned food does not make them less risky. A study confirming that small amount of these 3 elements does not have any side effect is needed to make the author’s argument persuasive.

Giving all these shortcomming in author’s argument, it is hard to accept it as it stands. In order to conclude that Promofoods tuna cans are not guilty of the reported side effects, more evidence is required. At least, the author have to provide answers for the above mentioned question in order to strengthen his supporting points’