There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author is comparing life style of living in big cities and small towns, and suggesting that life in the latter promotes better health and longer life. The author is supporting this claim with comparative anlysis of observations from both locations. Although, these observations offer possiblity to support the author’s argument, there are other possibly stronger explanations for these observations that can be proved more accurate.

Firstly, the author is comparing the number of reported sick leave between big city, which is Mastonton, and small town, which is Leeville. According to him, the small town businessed reported fewer number of sick leaves, unlike the high number of sick leaves in the big city. This obesrvation can be more cogently explained by the fact, the size and type of business in big cities is bigger and more complex. For example, Constuction businesses and industrial businessed constitute important segments of the job market in the cities. These type of business have higher chances for employees to get sick. Also, the high number of sick leaves can be attrubuted to the size of the work force in the cities, which is significantly higher than in small towns.

Secondly, the author is citing the number of physician the small town compared to the city to conclude that residents of the town do not need much health care like the residents of the city. This is a flawed explanation for this fact. The small number of physician in small towns is usually because small number of physicians are willing to work in these location. Especially those physicians who are not native to the small town. Physicians, of course, they will look for a place with more opprtunities which is obviously the big cities. This explanation is more plausible than the one provided by the authors.

Finally, the fact the average age of small town resident’s is higher does not indicate they are healthier or live longer. Average age is very different that life-expectancy, which can be used to indicate who long human beings could live. Actually, higher average age indicate that senior people like to live in small towns more than younger poeple. In fact, even young people who are native to small towns will eventually move to big cities for more opportunity, be it education in university or for work. Also, retired people from cities might would like to go back to their hometown to spend their retirment. Therefore, it become more understandable why average age in small towns is higher.

The author’s claim that small towns promote healthier life style and make people live longer is unconvincing. The presented facts and observations, even if accurate, can be explained more cogently and reasonably by other arguments. The author, in order to support his argument, should provide further evidence or at least exclude other possible explanations, such as the above mentioned ones.