Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much-needed money for fixing roads elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

We learn in the above argument that a town, Zurzi, is confronted with a traffic problem, and we learn how another town, Loft, dealt with this problem. We are asked to subscribe to the notion that since Loft’s efforts to curtail traffic were effective, Zurzi should enact similar measures. In order to better evaluate this argument, additional evidence is needed, falling generally into the categories of whether Loft’s efforts were indeed effective, and, even if this is the case, whether there is reason to believe that Zurzi will enjoy similar success were it to follow suit.

Were Loft’s efforts effective? To answer this question we would need to know more about the side effects of its actions. There are several possible negative side effects that could have occurred as a result of Loft’s implementing a tax on cars that enter the downtown area. For example, if traffic is suddenly avoiding that area because of the tax, where is it going? Are people simply driving less, or have they merely moved to another part of town? Evidence showing that traffic is simply bypassing that area and congesting another part of town would weaken the argument. Additionally, we may want to know who this tax is most affecting. In many cities, people who live on the outskirts of town are less able to afford the more expensive real estate in the city center. They then drive to work downtown. If this is the case in Loft, then the tax may be putting financial strain on those who cannot afford it, but have no other choice. If we were to find evidence that this was the case, this would weaken the argument that Zurzi should enact a similar plan. Finally, another important side effect of the tax may be the impact on local business owners. If suddenly traffic downtown is drastically curtailed, local business owners may find themselves with a precipitous decline in business. Evidence to this effect would serve to undermine the original statement.

We turn next to the second big assumption of the prompt, which is that Zurzi should do as Loft does. Suppose we find evidence that Loft’s measures were indeed successful—that traffic patterns aren’t harmfully disrupted, that the tax isn’t too great a financial burden, and that business owners are enjoying, say, an increasing influx of pedestrian clientele. Does this imply that Zurzi should necessarily do in kind? Not until we have evidence that Zurzi’s situation is comparable to Loft’s. For example, we would need to know whether Zurzi’s driving population is the same, both geographically and financially, as Loft’s. Just because Loft’s drivers can afford to pay that tax doesn’t mean that Zurzi’s can—we need more information to confirm that this the case. Additionally, as with Loft, we would need evidence indicating that businesses are subject to similar conditions. Evidence to this effect—namely, evidence indicating that Zurzi faces conditions similar to Loft—would strengthen, and indeed are necessary to the logical thrust of, the argument.

In summary, we see two main pillars of evidence that would need to be established in order to better evaluate the argument. First, we’d need evidence that Loft’s efforts were successful. Second, we’d need evidence that Zurzi is like Loft. With such confirming evidence, the argument begins to cohere. Without it, the argument is bereft of critical foundations.