The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author is suggesting for his friend to use Adam Reality - real estate firm - to sell his house becuase, as the author claims, they are superior. The author provides several points support his opinion, however these points rely on many unstated assumptions that need to be proved before accepting such opinion.

The author is quite confiedent that Adam Reality is superior over its competitor in the town, Fitch Reality. How superior it is? It is not clear if the author means superiority in terms of customer services, prices or marketing. At the end, assesing the firm will be based on his friend’s requirment, wither he is looking for cheap firm or a firm with good marketing capability. If his friend is not concern with time and would prefer to have the cheapest firm, the author’s seggestion will not be useful. The assumption that his friend’s is looking for the best firm is not supported by any evidence.

Listing the financial and structural facts of Adam Reality is irrelevant to his friend’s needs. Yes, a company with higher number of employees and high revenue may indicate that this company has a big business. However, for example, it is not necessary that a company with higher number of empoyees will provide better service for customers. This applies to the company’s revenue too. High revenue could indicate many things, such as that this company is more expensive or has a large base of customers. But it is not nessary that what the author’s friend’s is looking for.

Finally, the author experience cannot be generalised arbitrarly. His experience with Fitch Reality, when he had to wait for four months to sell his house, could be because his house itself. It might be located in bad location or was in bad condition. It is not always the the real estate fault when a property do not sell. The author assumes that Fitch Reality is bad in timing in general, and the continue to be like that. This assumption can only be proved if the author have a statistics showing the average time both firms sell properties.

The author’s suggestion for his friend is based on many unwarranted assumption and could be bad suggestion. Once the author clarifiy his supporting points, then we will be able to know if his suggestion is good.