The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author, rightfully, is concerned about the decrease in popularity of Central Plaza and suggesting to prohibit skateboarding in order to increase the Plaza popularity. He is arguing that as the popularity of the Plaza decreased the the popularity of skateboarding have increased. His suggestion is based on unsupported claim and before accepting it we new to evaluate the situation thoroughly.

It’s said that the Central Plaza have witnessed a steady decline of popularity over the past two year as the popularity of skateboarding increased. These are two separate events unlike what the author claims, unless proven that they are directly propotional. So, in order to assess the author’s claim about their relationship, we need to ask several questions. Did new competitors to the Central Plaza open recently? If so, this could be the cause of Central Plaza popularity. Also, does the market based dynamics changed due financial crisis or economic distress? This obviously will reduce consumers ability to purchase.

The author claim that skateboarders are to blame for discouraging customers from visiting the Central Plaza, but did he do any survey to assess this claim? If no customers submitted a complain regarding skateboarders, the author’s claim will be nearly baseless. Hence it is important to know the opinion of the customers.

Moreover, the author attribute this decline for increase of waste and vandalism. Of course, any place which is dirty and dangerous will negatively impact businesses. However, is this increase of vandalisim as a result of skateboarders? This is a strong claim that can be proved if incidents reports shows skateboarders involvement. In the same time, it is important to know what efforts the administration of the Central Plaza have put to maintain and secure the place? The answer of this question will tell us if the Plaza will be a better place if the skateboarders were prohibited.

The author’s proposal is stemming from good intention to increase the popularity of the Central Plaza as it was before. However, to point out that the cause of the popularity problem is skateboarding is unsupported claim. The author need to address the above mentioned questions in order to rationally evaluate his proposal and identify the real root causes of the problem.