Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. Indeveloping and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statementmay or may not be true.

Innovation is the key to research projects. There is always a science, cognitive science, behind every innovation. Motivation to achieve goals, comes from the support of erudite people and government. Technology plays an important role in spreading the thought and implementation of this innovative idea in the rest of the world.

Though, Government can only provide support and funding to these science projects. These projects can be a huge success with government's help in one way or other or be a big failure when government does not help economically. This is because science projects are started for a good cause, demand a large amount of funding, involved a large number of resources. If we look at pure science endeavors like space exploration, why is this important? The reason is it helps us to know more about our universe. We are able to understand how gravity works and how satellites are sent into the space to process information sent to it and helps in communication.The recent Mars Orbiter Mission 2, to know about the existence of life on Mars, which is done by ISRO is a great example to understand why government funding is important for pure science endeavors. This project would not have been successful if government would have thought to fund humanitarian projects at this time because government need to work according to the requirement at current time.

However, Humanitarian science projects also need attention of government. Projects like Disaster Management, Food and Agriculture Management, Environmental and Climatic Issues and Social Science are equally important because these projects directly affect any society. We need GIS (Geographical Information System) experts to process data and predict natural calamities. An agronomist, an environmentalist or an anthropologist or a sociologist to do humanitarian science projects but to make use of their expertise we need technologies, equipments or laboratories or classrooms or NGOs. For all this, we need government funding which can help in set-up. Based on the current need, government can manage its funding. For example, if there is a prediction that there is going to be a world war for water, so government should start funding to get hydrologists to seek their help in saving water and making people aware of this. At this time, government should reduce its funding on space exploration projects.

In my opinion, Government should fund projects based on priority of projects and priority changes with time. We cannot always claim that government should not spend much on pure science endeavors. Things, people, circumstances and even technology change with time. Government should do more funding on projects which are going to affect the society in near future and reduce its funding when it is over. Hence, priority of projects should be a determining factor for funding.