Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Lydia Maria Child says, “Law is not law, if it violates the principles of eternal justice”. Laws are just and crystal clear. A law is made with different needs and values of society and culture. So, no law is unjust when it is made by law makers of a country. It is true that every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and resist unjust laws.

Furthermore, law is important because it acts as a guideline as to what is accepted in a society. For example, the Govt. of India has recently changed the fine, that is 23k, for not following traffic rules. Some people may agree with the changed law because they think people will start following rules due to heavy fine charges. However, others may find it unjustified because govt has not installed or placed camera on each road and every traffic signals. So, government will not get an accurate data to know how many rule breakers are there. Roads are not properly maintained by the govt. as a result accidents happen every day so who is responsible for all this.

Moreover, a law become unjust for a society when something wrong happens. If I take an example of Section 377 which was introduced in India a long time ago. According to this law, if a person is homosexual and is involved in some sexual activities, he or she is committing a crime. Although, Homosexuality is not a crime or an illegal act for a gay or a lesbian that makes Section 377 unjust for LGBT community but it just for other people of societies. So, the Indian government ended this law in 2018.

In my opinion, though the laws are just but with time and needs of society, laws should change. Changes in laws should be brought to the notice of government because with time and situation, laws become redundant.