Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Responsibility is a task, assigned to or taken by a person or a community or a corporation, that is expected to do. The responsibility seems a big word because if any good or bad happens, assignee is the one who should take charge of it. The responsibility taken by corporations is huge, the reason is it affects the society in one way or other.

Indeed, the corporations have a responsibility to promote well-being of the societies and the environment because corporations work for people. Products or services provided by these corporations are consumed by the societies. If we take examples of consumer-based MNCs like Apple provides us latest technology based products like laptop, mobile phones etc. HUL provides us fast moving consumer goods, Airtel provides us tele-communication services. These products are changing life of a consumer; making us gadget-friendly, we are using 4G/5G high speed internet, and consuming environment-friendly products. These products or services are consumed by more than one person of the societies gradually. MNCs also provide employment and better work culture to a large population of societies. So all this promote the well-being of the societies.

However, some people believe that corporations work for themselves. The only responsibility they have is to make more and more money. By supplying different kinds of products and services in the market, they acquire regular customers. If we take an example of Amazon, initially it was only an e-commerce website and now it has started giving us prime services at very low cost. The benefit of taking prime services gives you access to Amazon prime videos and music. Since consumer-base of this company is very large eventually it earns more and more profit.

In my opinion, I would say the corporations have responsibility to promote the well-being of the society. They are making the world a better place by making us aware of advanced technologies, by providing user friendly products and consumer goods.