Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per

day fromMonday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the

policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down

offices on Fridays and toboost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work

each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Company X wants to change work hour-and-day policy to increase profits and wants to boost morale of employees by giving them three days off in a week. The company has made certain assumptions that need to be considered for this policy to work effectively.

The first change which company has made is changing 4-day work week and mandating that each employee should work 10 hours per day.The assumption here is that each employee would agree on this new working hours. Employees of a company belong to different age groups. Some of the employees are married, some can be single, some employee can be in their early old age. Everyone wants to have a work-life balance; working 10 hours a day might be difficult for some people because they have to look after their families or might have responsibilities, might have a schedule to follow during the day. If this is not the case then all employees would agree with this resolution or else people will start quitting their job which will be a failure of this policy.

The second claim was that by shutting down offices on Friday, Company X will earn more profits. Company X assumes that by saving operational costs of company, can increase the profit. A company's profit depends on the value of the company's shares in financial market or how well the consumers use products and services provided by the company. Reducing company's operational cost might not be a contributing factor in increasing profits of a company. Another assumption here

is on a holiday all of the energy consumed can be reduced but it is possible that some resources and energy will be required to keep certain machines up even on a non-working day. If company X has different conditions then this policy might be helpful in improving profits.

The last thing which company assumes is that by reducing commuting time each week will boost employee morale. It is possible that working continuously for 10 long hours for four days a week is hectic and tiresome for employees. They might not be able to work efficiently after 7-8 hours. Instead boosting up of morale, it will become burdensome for them. So even reducing commuting time will not help, sometimes it is bonus or appraisal which makes employees

happy and energetic.

Hence, Company X should consider the implications of all assumptions before implementing this policy because employees are the resources of any company and are crucial to help them to earn profit and a company is known by its work not by its policies. So,the company should consider both employees' view and its profit to get the true benefit of the policy.